IMGA is governed by an Executive Committee which manages the affairs and funds of IMGA. The duties of the Executive Committee also include planning for conferences, elections and publications. The terms of office are for two years.


Executive Committee of IMGA
For more information about a member of the committee, please click on their name


Prof Nelly Mañay

Director, Specialised Centre for Chemical Toxicology

University of the Republic

Montivideo, Uruguay

Co-Chair for Geosciences

Prof María Aurora Armienta

Geophysics Institute

Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México

Mexico City, México

Co-Chair for Medical Sciences

Dr Diego Fridman

Director, Clinical Research Department

Fundación Centro de Estudios Infectológicos

Buenos Aires, Argentina


Prof Iossif Volfson

Medical Geology Division


Moscow, Russia

Dr Ester Sztein

U.S. National Committees for the Geosciences

Board on International Scientific Organizations of

the U.S. National Academy of Sciences

Washington, D.C., USA

Prof Héctor Rubio

College of Animal Production and Ecology

Autonomous University of Chihuahua

Chihuahua, México


Dr Darren Beriro

Environmental Geochemist

British Geological Survey

Nottingham, UK

Prof Laura Börgel

Toxicology and Risk Assessment

Universidad de Chile

Santiago de Chile, Chile

Dr Cassio Roberto da Silva

Medical Geology and Environ. Geochemistry

Geological Survey of Brazil

Rio de Janeiro, Brazil


Dr Carla Patinha

Investigadora do GEOBIOTEC - GeoBioSciences,

GeoTechnologies and GeoEngineering

University of Aveiro

Aveiro, Portugal


Email: treasurer @

IMGA Support

Editor-in-Chief, Medical Geology Newsletter

Dr Mark Cave

Geochemistry and Applied Statistics

British Geological Survey

Nottingham, UK


Scott Cherba

Geologist, educator

Tucson, Arizona, USA

Email: webmaster @